Nominators 2021/22

Each year we invite the public to make nominations.  Additionally, we actively seek nominations from a group of leading experts from around the world who provide a breadth of knowledge and expertise in photography and related media. They work across a spectrum of disciplines and include (but are not limited to) museum and not-for-profit professionals, gallerists, collectors, festival directors, curators, writers, influencers, editors, critics, as well as advocates for equal opportunities and diversity.

We recognise the value of all nominations and give equal consideration to every nomination. Following the annual deadline, nominations are pre-screened and reviewed by our Criteria of Merit Panel, who elect the cohort for the current year.

Name Title
Addie Elliotthalls Owner and Director, Elliotthalls
Adriana Teresa Letorney Founder, CEO & Creative Director of
Aldeide Delgado Founder and director, Women Photographers International Archive
Alexa Dilworth Publishing Director, Center for Documentary Studies at Duke University
Andy Adams Founder, FlakPhoto
Ashlyn Davis Burns Co-founder, Assembly
Bill Aguado Director, En Foco
Ellen K Willas Founder, Willas Contemporary
Gilane Tawadros Chief Executive, DACS; Co-director, Art360 Foundation
Hannah Frieser Curator, writer and artist; Executive Director, Center for Photography at Woodstock
Joerg Colberg Writer, photographer and editor, founder of Conscientious
Juan Eyheremendy Director, Vermelho
Julie Bonzon Director of Photography at Messums London, Specialist in South African Photography, Founder of The Photographic Collective
Kimberly Drew Independent curator and writer
Lanese Jaftha Director, Stevenson Gallery
Laura Moya Director, Photolucida
Legacy Russell Associate Curator, Exhibitions, The Studio Museum in Harlem
Maarten Schilt Founder, Schilt Publishing
Marta Weiss Senior Curator, Photographs, Victoria & Albert Museum
Mohamed Somji Founder and Director, Gulf Photo Plus
Natasha Egan Executive Director, Museum of Contemporary Photography, Columbia College Chicago
Peggy Sue Amison Artistic Director, The East Wing
Pippa Milne Senior Curator, Monash Gallery of Art
Salwa Mikdadi Associate Professor Practice of Art History, NYU Abu Dhabi; Director, al Mawrid Arab Center for the Study of Art, NY UAD
Sarah Allen Assistant curator, International Art, Tate Modern
Selma Feriani Director, Selma Feriani Gallery
Smita Tharoor Founder, Tharoor Associates
Stephanie von Spreter Freelance curator, writer and PhD fellow in art history at UiT The Arctic University of Norway, Tromsø
Steven Evans Executive Director, FotoFest
Sunyoung Kim Curator of photography, The Museum of Photography Seoul
Tiffany Wai-Ying Beres Art historian, University of California San Diego
Tim Persons Founder, Persons Projects
Verena Kaspar-Eisert Curator, Kunst Haus Wien
Wayne Ford Designer and Creative Director